blogging · facebook · futurejournalism · socialmedia · training · twitter

The death of the blog

It’s occurred to me that I have too many bad habits that make me feel incredibly guilty. But before you start thinking of me in this fabulously debauched rockstar lifestyle, I should say that my sparse blogging is one of those bad habits. Keith Richards eat your heart out, I know. But the fact is that stuff happens (I spend three months in the States researching, I’m trying to finish a PhD, I’m training in newsrooms and teaching the next generation of journos) and maintaining this blog slips to the back of the list. I find myself doing exactly what I tell would-be bloggers not to do – I am not regularly updating content. I do think about it most days, but somehow I just don’t seem to get back to the ‘add new post’ window.

I started this blog for a reason. I wanted to blog. I wanted to engage in this space, meet like-minded people and share information. Blogging was growing at such a rate that I needed to be teaching it and I couldn’t very well teach it without doing it. Then, if I am completely honest, as my readership grew I saw the potential for growing my profile. I am afterall a freelance writer, trainer and consultant so it was good to be recognised in my field. Today and probably for the past 12months that I have been slack in maintaining this blog, all of these reasons are still relevant, yet I find it hard to make the time to blog. Why is that? Well, put quite simply, I think we may be encountering the death of the blog.

I get to engage, meet like-minded people and share information everyday – but on Twitter and Facebook. I point to information, yes, information that I didn’t create, but such a high percentage of blog posts are just reactions to other online content. I discuss issues, post reactions and find sources and information – why would I need to blog? But then there are those occasions, like this one, where I have an idea or issue the I want more than 140 characters to dissect. It is at times like these that I find myself finally opening that ‘add new post’ box and writing. So perhaps this post needs the title: ‘The death of the blog (as we know it)’, because I think the days of the ‘you must blog regularly/ daily/ hourly’ are past. Instead the blog fulfills a different purpose. It is a space or destination to point to. A space where you can create content, curate content, but only when the space and facilities of Twitter and Facebook won’t do it.

2 thoughts on “The death of the blog

  1. I go through stages where I don’t blog for days or even weeks. Like you, I still get the urge to write in this format occasionally. After eight years of writing there’s a lot of content, even if it’s only meaningful to me.

    I like your comment about the blog being a destination.

Leave a Reply

